Events Accredited for CME / CPD by EBGH / EACCME

Structure of the EUMS

The European Union of Medical Specialists (EUMS) (en francais L’Union Européenne des Médecins Specialistes - UEMS) was founded in 1958, one year after the European Economic Community (EEC). It is the official representative body of all Medical Specialists to the European Commission. The EUMS is composed of working medical specialists who are delegated by the professional bodies of their own countries. The organization consists of an Executive Committee and 37 specialist sections, one for every specialty recognized in at least one-third of the member countries. Some specialties, who are not entitled to create their own section, are associated with another specialty section. The EUMS has contacts with the European Commission, the Advisory Committee for Medical Training and the Permanent Committee.

The EUMS has no funding from the EU and relies on the receipt of fees from the professional bodies of its member countries.